Urban Terror Forums: Common Error Messages - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (5 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Common Error Messages Rate Topic: -----

#11 User is offline   Dragonne Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: dragonne
  • Country:
  • Joined: 13-June 10
  • Posts: 1070
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 24 October 2008 - 02:53 PM

You have your project file set up incorrectly.

When you installed GTKRadiant, you should have pointed at the iourt folder if you don't have quake3 installed. Otherwise, you need to select File > Project settings, and in there choose Quake3 modification and enter q3ut4 (which should be the folder where all of the UrT assets are).

Basically, you need a GTKRadiant setup tutorial. Google is your friend.

#12 User is offline   blanchg (old) Icon

  • Joined: 17-October 07
  • Posts: 151
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia

Posted 12 November 2008 - 11:59 PM

More info for <b>Can't find spawn point</b>

You need one of the following
info_player_start
info_player_deathmatch
info_player_intermission -- Lets a person spectate but doesn't let you join a team

Credits to TRaK and CCCP

Tested
http://forums.urbant....html#msg175441

#13 User is offline   The Rawler (old) Icon

  • Joined: 08-September 08
  • Posts: 10
  • LocationManukau, New Zealand

Posted 06 December 2008 - 09:37 PM

Hey, awesome thread

i got an issue,
when i go to compile it. it says

"The procedure entry point g_dir_open_utf8 could not be located in the dynamic link library libglib-2.0-0.dll"

Help me please

#14 User is offline   H3NRY Icon

  • Account: h3nry
  • Main tag: .um
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 2785
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 08 December 2008 - 11:38 PM

i just got this error when trying to start my map and didn't see it in the list....
i did not try to start bots so i dono....

-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Requested feature was omitted at compile time
) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Requested feature was omitted at compile time

#15 User is offline   Nightcrawl (old) Icon

  • Joined: 03-January 08
  • Posts: 669
  • LocationSweden

Posted 13 December 2008 - 12:13 PM

I've experienced a error after playing around with EasyGen;
G_AddSpawnVarToken: MAX_SPAWN_WARS

I guess I messed up somehow. It wasn't in the list, anyone know what's wrong?


edit:
My 500:ed post on these forums, and it's in a sticky! It will always be remembered lol

#16 User is offline   Dragonne Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: dragonne
  • Country:
  • Joined: 13-June 10
  • Posts: 1070
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 13 December 2008 - 01:40 PM

Quote

i just got this error when trying to start my map and didn't see it in the list....
i did not try to start bots so i dono....

-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Requested feature was omitted at compile time
) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Requested feature was omitted at compile time


That's not usually fixable. If it starts working again, it's kinda luck. It's one of the standard "Bots won't work in your map, ever." errors. It's one of the reasons why some maps don't come with bot files.


Quote

I've experienced a error after playing around with EasyGen;
G_AddSpawnVarToken: MAX_SPAWN_WARS

I guess I messed up somehow. It wasn't in the list, anyone know what's wrong?


First, you wrote the error down wrong, so your 500th post is now forever going to be remembered as having a fatal fail in it. (hehehe) Anyway, it's:

G_AddSpawnVarToken: MAX_SPAWN_VARS

IIRC this is related to entity keys within a single entity. Either there are too many of them or there are more characters used in the entity's keys than are allowed. There's also the possibility that a key/value pair in the entity isn't being parsed correctly. You might have a " in a key for a path or something, and they aren't allowed in keys. That's what I'd look for in the most recent entities you've added.

Oh, the max keys in a single entity is 64, and the max characters allowed for all keys in a single entity is 4096.

#17 User is offline   Nightcrawl (old) Icon

  • Joined: 03-January 08
  • Posts: 669
  • LocationSweden

Posted 15 December 2008 - 06:41 PM

Thanks, I'll check it out.

#18 User is offline   blanchg (old) Icon

  • Joined: 17-October 07
  • Posts: 151
  • LocationBrisbane, Australia

Posted 19 January 2009 - 05:34 AM

Quote

i just got this error when trying to start my map and didn't see it in the list....
i did not try to start bots so i dono....

-----------------------
----- Server Shutdown (Server fatal crashed: Requested feature was omitted at compile time
) -----
==== ShutdownGame ====
AAS shutdown.
---------------------------
Requested feature was omitted at compile time



I just got this error today, turned out it was an errant .jpg I was using for a textue, I think it was saved progressive or optimized.  Saved it with default settings and fixed this error.  Had to be something simple was a map with just a box/playerstart in it.

#19 User is offline   Delirium Icon

  •   mapper   
  • Account: delirium
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 5400
  • Notoriety: afk

Posted 21 January 2009 - 10:53 AM

Quote

ERROR: MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY exceeded
  MAX_MAP_VISIBILITY means you reached VIS's upper limit. However, it IS fixable. Anything brushes that aren't structural (ie. chairs, consoles, etc) should be made into detail brushes. Also make sure to use caulk on any non-visible faces.


I've run into this, but I know how to detail and structural my brushes. and my hinting im still learning

Could this be caused by too much hinting? because i thought i might test out what would happen if i just went wild with hinting, but i'm not totaly sure
because it's skipping the hinting stage :P

#20 User is offline   žalost (old) Icon

  • vivisectionist
  • Joined: 26-March 07
  • Posts: 3535
  • Locationseahorse seahell

Posted 21 January 2009 - 01:55 PM

@del,
i got max vis exceeded on oaklawn, but i fixed it by converting most brushes into detail and blocking it out with large caulk brushes. I think hints actually help this, i can't be sure because i do not fully know how the errors are caused in the compiler.

In short, to fix that error on oaklawn, it now looks like this:
with details 'n' fluff:
Posted Image

with just structurals:
Posted Image

  • (5 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2017 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942