Urban Terror Forums: Elder Scrolls arena REALLY bad fps (in dosbox) - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
  urt_home downloads support news | members groups servers forums    Follow on external_facebookexternal_twitterexternal_youtubeexternal_rss_feed  
Advertisement
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Elder Scrolls arena REALLY bad fps (in dosbox) Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   thegodofwar (old) Icon

  • Joined: 19-September 08
  • Posts: 1270
  • LocationMaryland state usa

Posted 12 March 2009 - 08:12 PM

I just downloaded Elder Scrolls and ran it in dosbox and the start up screen is fine every thing runs smooth except for the gameplay. Its so slow i have to wait 5 minutes to go across the room any one know how i can fix this?

http://en.wikipedia....r_Scrolls_Arena

#2 User is offline   wraith4.x (old) Icon

  • Urban Soul
  • Joined: 18-November 07
  • Posts: 1374
  • Locationthe depths

Posted 13 March 2009 - 12:31 PM

nvm

#3 User is offline   Minimum Rage (old) Icon

  • Joined: 18-April 07
  • Posts: 395
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 14 March 2009 - 05:12 AM

Why do people bring software with a README.TXT?

Q: The game/application runs much too slow!
A: Look at the section "How to run resource-demanding games" for more
   information.

=======================================
9. How to run resource-demanding games:
=======================================

DOSBox emulates the CPU, the sound and graphic cards, and other peripherals
of a PC, all at the same time. The speed of an emulated DOS application
depends on how many instructions can be emulated, which is adjustable
(number of cycles).

CPU Cycles
  By default (cycles=auto) DOSBox tries to detect whether a game needs to
  be run with as many instructions emulated per time interval as possible.
  You can force this behaviour by setting cycles=max in the DOSBox
  configuration file. The DOSBox window will display a line "Cpu Cyles: max"
  at the top then. In this mode you can reduce the amount of cycles on a
  percentage-basis (hit CTRL-F11) or raise it again (CTRL-F12).
 
  Sometimes manually setting the number of cycles achieves better results,
  in the DOSBox configuration file specify for example cycles=30000. When
  running some DOS application you can raise the cycles with CTRL-F12 even
  more, but you will be limited by the power of your actual CPU. You can see
  how much free time your true CPU has by looking at the Task Manager in
  Windows 2000/XP and the System Monitor in Windows 95/98/ME. Once 100% of
  your real CPU time is used there is no further way to speed up DOSBox
  unless you reduce the load generated by the non-CPU parts of DOSBox.

#4 User is offline   wraith4.x (old) Icon

  • Urban Soul
  • Joined: 18-November 07
  • Posts: 1374
  • Locationthe depths

Posted 14 March 2009 - 05:38 AM

lol i didn't read the OP's question correctly :roll:

#5 User is offline   thegodofwar (old) Icon

  • Joined: 19-September 08
  • Posts: 1270
  • LocationMaryland state usa

Posted 14 March 2009 - 02:13 PM

Quote

Why do people bring software with a README.TXT?

Q: The game/application runs much too slow!
A: Look at the section "How to run resource-demanding games" for more
   information.

=======================================
9. How to run resource-demanding games:
=======================================

DOSBox emulates the CPU, the sound and graphic cards, and other peripherals
of a PC, all at the same time. The speed of an emulated DOS application
depends on how many instructions can be emulated, which is adjustable
(number of cycles).

CPU Cycles
  By default (cycles=auto) DOSBox tries to detect whether a game needs to
  be run with as many instructions emulated per time interval as possible.
  You can force this behaviour by setting cycles=max in the DOSBox
  configuration file. The DOSBox window will display a line "Cpu Cyles: max"
  at the top then. In this mode you can reduce the amount of cycles on a
  percentage-basis (hit CTRL-F11) or raise it again (CTRL-F12).
 
  Sometimes manually setting the number of cycles achieves better results,
  in the DOSBox configuration file specify for example cycles=30000. When
  running some DOS application you can raise the cycles with CTRL-F12 even
  more, but you will be limited by the power of your actual CPU. You can see
  how much free time your true CPU has by looking at the Task Manager in
  Windows 2000/XP and the System Monitor in Windows 95/98/ME. Once 100% of
  your real CPU time is used there is no further way to speed up DOSBox
  unless you reduce the load generated by the non-CPU parts of DOSBox.
Thanks i will try it.

#6 User is offline   Minimum Rage (old) Icon

  • Joined: 18-April 07
  • Posts: 395
  • LocationBelgium

Posted 15 March 2009 - 01:57 AM

this thread reminds me that i should play this game too. I played Morrowind and I liked it a lot. I didn't like oblivion. (Morrowind on easy mode)

did the cycle thing solve your problem?

#7 User is offline   thegodofwar (old) Icon

  • Joined: 19-September 08
  • Posts: 1270
  • LocationMaryland state usa

Posted 15 March 2009 - 02:03 AM

Yes it did.

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

bullet_disabledSponsored link


Copyright © 1999-2014 FrozenSand / 0870760 B.C. Ltd  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of 0870760 B.C. Ltd