Urban Terror Forums: Intel GMA HD performance? (GMA5700MHD) - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Intel GMA HD performance? (GMA5700MHD) Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   pollofeliz Icon

  • Account: pollofeliz
  • Joined: 18-April 10
  • Posts: 140
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 25 June 2010 - 08:34 PM

Surely, by now lots of people have bought one of those newer laptops using Intel i3, i5, or i7 processors. By default, the base ("dirt cheap") configurations come with a new integrated Intel GPU called Intel HD Graphics (formally called GMA5700MHD). Has anyone tried running UrT on one of those in high quality settings? What's your experience? What about other games? Quake 4, Nexuiz, CS, etc? Or is it still worth to pay $50-$150 premium (+ lower battery run time) for discrete graphics?

BTW, how's their Linux support?
3AKOH
(usually)

#2 User is offline   n4n3rz Icon

  • Account: n4n3rz
  • Joined: 21-April 10
  • Posts: 45
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 25 June 2010 - 09:38 PM

not that i've used it, but stay the hell away from onboard graphics on laptops at least. being stuck with crap graphics in 3-4 yrs or a new motherboard/laptop =[

#3 User is offline   Nexu Icon

  •   clan leader   
  • Account: nexu
  • Main tag: |it|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-June 07
  • Posts: 4264
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 25 June 2010 - 10:29 PM

View Postpollofeliz, on 25 June 2010 - 08:34 PM, said:

is it still worth to pay $50-$150 premium (+ lower battery run time) for discrete graphics?

Yes

View Postpollofeliz, on 25 June 2010 - 08:34 PM, said:

BTW, how's their Linux support?

Intel has opensource drivers for their GMA serie, works fine. All the fancy eye-candy works fine too (opengl, compiz, compiz-fusion, etc..).

View Postpollofeliz, on 25 June 2010 - 08:34 PM, said:

a new integrated Intel GPU called Intel HD Graphics (formally called GMA5700MHD). Has anyone tried running UrT on one of those in high quality settings?

The FPS performances depends on the CPU performances level. Getting stable 125 might be possible at extreme low res, ~60 or so at modest resolution (800x600 - 1280x1024) with low detail.
But GMA serie does not support multisample anti-aliasing, which leaves you without any option to remove the jagged edges other than jacking up the resolution (which the VPU sucks at).

View Postpollofeliz, on 25 June 2010 - 08:34 PM, said:

What's your experience? What about other games? Quake 4, Nexuiz, CS, etc?

Basically everything based on IDTech3/4, Source, UT2.x engine games would run fine at modest resolution ( < 1280px w) with medium/low detail at just barely acceptable fps ( ~ 30 or more ). But again, this depends a lot on which CPU you have. Weak CPU will perform noticeable poor.

Intel claim it can run Crysis too, but they might have missed the memo describing the difference between 'running a game' and 'running a slideshow'. :blink:

#4 User is offline   pollofeliz Icon

  • Account: pollofeliz
  • Joined: 18-April 10
  • Posts: 140
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 28 June 2010 - 08:27 PM

Ok, so in the end, I settled on a nice notebook that I like that happens to have ATI Radeon HD 5470 graphics. We'll see how it goes. It's still in the mail.
3AKOH
(usually)

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2017 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942