ut4_oilrig [alpha2] Rate Topic: -----

very early version, still WIP

#1 User is offline   LynXIII Icon

• Account: lynxiii
  • Main tag: C.M.M.

Posted 02 February 2011 - 09:10 PM

Hi everyone

may I introduce you to: ut4_oilrig

This is my first attempt at map making ...ever! So please be gentle and give me tips and tricks and cookies :biggrin:

It is a very early version as you will see instantly. It has only placeholder textures and the rooms are all empty.
I decided to "go public" so soon, because I'm new to mapping and still need a lot of help. And the most important thing in my eyes is the layout of the map. I'm still working on that and I want to get this done before I start on the looks of the map.

roadmap:
- finalize layout
- mittering
- add proper textures and shaders
- fill rooms with stuff (furniture, etc)
- do the hinting magic
- add bot support
- make it UrtHD ready

Background/story:

The map started as an remake of the original Rainbow Six multiplayer map 'Oil rig' and is located, you guessed it, on an offshore oil rig. But the original layout of the map isn't very ...Urban terror friendly, and is very small, too. So I modified the layout heavily and added a lot new parts.

In the Rainbow Six singleplayer mission "Angel Wire" the oil rig is run by the (fictional) oil company PetroMech, but since I changed so much I didn't feel committed to stick to this (and hardly any Rainbow Six player will remember that anyways). So since I am working more on a homage rather than a remake, I decided to let the oil rig be run by the evil Horizon company, which was behind all the terror plots in Rainbow Six (to ultimately kill all humans with a deadly virus, except a few chosen ones).

Download:ut4_oilrig_alpha2
(this map requires the 4.1.1 patch, otherwise there will be missing textures!)
(No bot support yet and no CTF mode!)

zoomed out view of the oilrig (alpha2):
(full size)
Spoiler

zoomed out view of the "backside" of the oilrig (alpha2):
(full size)
Spoiler