• +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

intro demo aka. tutorial Rate Topic: -----

improvements

#1 User is offline   KarlMariaSeeberg Icon

Posted 20 June 2013 - 01:12 AM

hello,

a while ago i asked for the menus of urt to be made more user friendly, more accessible for new players who don't know how to utilize the .cfg .. taken they even know it exists... this idea was turned down cause menus seem to be difficult to handle in idtech3 ...

for some reason i remembered there is this tutorial you are asked to watch when starting urt for the first time...

i think this tutorial demo would be a great or at least convenient way to explain quite a few different aspects of urt...

let me take you back :)

what i was missing when i started playing this game was a proper tutorial that can teach you how to strafe jump and more importantly circle jump ... movement is urt's most important unique selling point (sorry for using that awful word) and all i found were a few sites explaining how to do it but there were hardly any videos .. let alone demos that would have helped... so why not make the tutorial video something that provides solid input .. maybe on a map that is built to teach you basic jumps...

keeping maji's promise in mind that urt hd will include many maps with vertical gameplay a tutorial in 4.2 could be a test run ... if you are a new player you are pretty much a walker and you see those other players do this amazing jumps, you envy them but there is not much guidance... i think as long as you are a lemming on uptown more than once in ...say 20 minutes.. you don't get the full urt experience... you should try to change that by getting the beginners to get a grip on the basic stuff.. as i have mentioned personally i think a map designed for this purpose would be the best way to go here...