Urban Terror Forums: mapcycle and the non-dedicated server - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

mapcycle and the non-dedicated server Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:28 PM

Hi,

I looked through the search and only found one topic that matches what I'm looking for help with (but no final answer was given), and isn't hopelessly out of date.

Our little lan at work used to have a dedicated server. Now, due to some flash animation running on the same PC continuously, the server lags badly. Until a new home is found we thought we'd run it on one of our (the players) machines. But when starting a game using ioUrbanTerror and with the command line: set g_mapcycle "mymaps.txt" in the cfg. when clicking "start server" from the main menu, picking a map and game type, and starting up - no cycle happens. When the game is over, the map reloads. When a cycle map vote is passed, the map reloads.

What have I done wrong? How do I fix it? Or alternatively, can you run a dedicated server, and join up to the game from the same PC?

We are running on Windoze btw.

Thanks, and sorry for the somewhat confused ramblings. If I'm not clear - just ask and I'll try and rephrase.

#2 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:37 PM

Yes, you can run a dedicated and start a client to join that dedicated.

But I'm wondering about the map cycle, I believe it's suposed to work. Have you tried typing g_mapcycle <enter> in the console on the machine that was running the non-dedicated? To make sure it reported the right file name?

#3 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:47 PM

Yep. It's reporting the right name. I just retried now.

mymaps.txt is in the q3ut4 folder and the mymaps.txt has ut4_abbey about 12 lines down. ut4_prague below it.

Started a FFA server on abbey, waited the 60 seconds and called a cyclemap vote, and abbey reloaded? anything else i should check?

#4 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:48 PM

Hm, maybe try with a very basic mapcycle first:

ut4_casa
ut4_kingdom
ut4_tunis

and see if that works.

Cause I just tried with that and it worked.

#5 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 01 September 2008 - 04:52 PM

nope. no luck.

as a matter of interest I checked g_nextmap, and it was "" is that right? any other ideas?

#6 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 01 September 2008 - 05:08 PM

Yeah, I don't think nextmap gets filled by mapcycle.

I don't understand why it wouldn't work for you, it works fine here :)

/g_mapcycle poep.txt

Then I load a map from the start server menu (non dedicated) with timelimit of 1 minute and then the cycle just works.

#7 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 02 September 2008 - 08:01 AM

Thanks for trying - I'll try the autocycle at lunch. Maybe it's just on callvote that it hangs. i don't think so - but yeah - let's try that. I'll post when I know what's what.

#8 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 02 September 2008 - 01:23 PM

Still didn't get it to work. FF$%#%$#%^mumble ...

So I tried the dedicated thing, and thaat works except than when I join myself, I can't exec my cfg ... it reverts to default keys. What's up with that?

#9 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 02 September 2008 - 02:24 PM

Yeah, dedicated server removes all client-stuff from your config. Better run a server from a separate folder.

#10 User is offline   paelleon (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-November 07
  • Posts: 178

Posted 02 September 2008 - 03:33 PM

separate install ... clever.

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2022 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942