Urban Terror Forums: Optimized .app; builds of ioq3 engine - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (19 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Optimized .app; builds of ioq3 engine Rate Topic: ***** 4 Votes

Mac64 Snow Leopard support, Fixes and Improvements

#11 User is offline   say Icon

  • Account: say
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 3

Posted 22 March 2010 - 08:47 PM

View Poststrepidus, on 22 March 2010 - 01:41 AM, said:

voidref, thanks so much for updating the .app! I've never seen UrT be so smooth on 1920x1200...I think I should actually try sniping now :-)


Much thanks, void. I'm porting it over to my Intel Core Duo.


I downloaded and compiled SDL using the i386 settings, since our architectures are incompatible. I had to make a little fix to curlbuild.h to get it to compile.

Now that the compile succeeds, are you simply copying the resulting ioquake3.i386 over to the stock ioUrbanTerror.app?

Thanks again.

#12 User is offline   say Icon

  • Account: say
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 3

Posted 22 March 2010 - 10:41 PM

View Postsay, on 22 March 2010 - 08:47 PM, said:

Much thanks, void. I'm porting it over to my Intel Core Duo.


I downloaded and compiled SDL using the i386 settings, since our architectures are incompatible. I had to make a little fix to curlbuild.h to get it to compile.

Now that the compile succeeds, are you simply copying the resulting ioquake3.i386 over to the stock ioUrbanTerror.app?

Thanks again.


Okies, copied over the ioquake3.i386 to /Applications/Urban Terror and it loads up fine. I get a crash when I try to record a demo.

If someone wants my binaries, or modified source, let me know.

#13 User is offline   strepidus Icon

  • Account: strepidus
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 11

Posted 23 March 2010 - 01:26 AM

Just wanted to add that smp is working well for me with void's build. I did a quick timedemo of a recording I made online, and without smp I got 152.4fps, and with smp I get 176.7fps. Not a bad boost!

#14 User is offline   voidref Icon

  • Account: voidref
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 133

Posted 23 March 2010 - 02:58 AM

View Postsay, on 22 March 2010 - 10:41 PM, said:

Okies, copied over the ioquake3.i386 to /Applications/Urban Terror and it loads up fine. I get a crash when I try to record a demo.

If someone wants my binaries, or modified source, let me know.


Hey,

you just need to replace the UrbanTerror.app/Contents/MacOS/UrbanTerror.ub with the ioquake.386 that you built.

Interesting that it doesn't work on the Core Duo, are you using Snow Leopard? It might be the 64 bit os you need.

I am not seeing a crash when I go to record a demo.

Was the bit you needed to change the part with the CURL_INT_LENGTH or some such? I think rather than 4 or 8, it should probably be sizeof(long)

#15 User is offline   voidref Icon

  • Account: voidref
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 133

Posted 23 March 2010 - 03:01 AM

View Poststrepidus, on 23 March 2010 - 01:26 AM, said:

Just wanted to add that smp is working well for me with void's build. I did a quick timedemo of a recording I made online, and without smp I got 152.4fps, and with smp I get 176.7fps. Not a bad boost!


Interesting.

I am using the tutorial.dm_68 and I get 226 without smp and 220 with, which is a smaller difference, but in the opposite direction than you are seeing.

This is with Medium Textures, 32 bit everything, non compressed textures at 1920 x 1200 on the same ATI card you have.

I wonder if the processor really does make the difference.

I'm really glad the build is helping you out so much!

#16 User is offline   strepidus Icon

  • Account: strepidus
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 11

Posted 23 March 2010 - 07:11 AM

View Postvoidref, on 23 March 2010 - 03:01 AM, said:

Interesting.

I am using the tutorial.dm_68 and I get 226 without smp and 220 with, which is a smaller difference, but in the opposite direction than you are seeing.


I also get higher FPS on the tutorial without smp, but I think in real-world conditions, where there are multiple players and lots of shooting going on, it's faster with smp enabled. At least that's what happened when I tried it on a demo that I recorded from playing online.

#17 User is offline   voidref Icon

  • Account: voidref
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 133

Posted 23 March 2010 - 08:57 AM

That's a good point.

What we need is a canonical demo for testing things like this.

Perhaps I'll make one!

#18 User is offline   Ateamrocks Icon

  • Account: ateamrocks
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-March 10
  • Posts: 111

Posted 30 March 2010 - 01:36 AM

Heya,

My mouse only allows me to change weapons when I'm standing still. Any thoughts?

B1nary
B1naryTh1ef
:3

#19 User is offline   voidref Icon

  • Account: voidref
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 133

Posted 30 March 2010 - 07:23 AM

what do you mean exactly? Does this happen with the regular builds?

#20 User is offline   Weedwalker Icon

  • Account: weedwalker
  • Main tag: duff.
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 45

Posted 30 March 2010 - 02:52 PM

Hi, i got a mac pro :
- Processor 2 x 2.8 Ghz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
- Memory 4 Go 800MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
- Graphic card ATI Radeon HD 2600


I've got already 125 fps , i wonder if that usefull to install your app ??

thx

This post has been edited by Weedwalker: 30 March 2010 - 02:52 PM

duff. / #duffbeer

  • (19 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2019 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942