Urban Terror Forums: Running multiple servers on Ubuntu causes high kernel usage - Urban Terror Forums

Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Running multiple servers on Ubuntu causes high kernel usage Rate Topic: -----

100 percent cpu usage

#11 User is offline   Nitro Icon

•   QA member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |P|

Posted 30 May 2011 - 10:21 PM

View PostLammeSnail, on 30 May 2011 - 08:03 PM, said:

Dear Nitro,

Thanks for your kind answer. I try to describe my doubts.

1. Virtual or not, at the beginning runs 7-8 servers without problem, later only less, although no change in server and in urt config either, and have a lots of free memory and CPU %.

2. I am a clan server administrator so we need more then one server (f.e. jump, privat/training, war, public etc). One of them is a BOT server for newbies, here 10 bots "burn" the CPU with 2-8 percent. 2 cores are given to the virtual ubuntu (urt server).

3. About why virtualization: I've been checked my possibilities and Esxi seemed the best solution. I had to give access to users to help managing urt servers but without accessing my web/mail server. So with virtualization i only have 1 hardware.

4. I started this topic because tought not i am the first with own server running multiple urt servers on it. If someone else has experience like mine.

5. About resources again: bad I/O and whatever... I tought as well that my hardware is overloaded and that is why changed the hardware. But is it not the answer since at the linux poweron i can start much more servers then later... :-(

6. I do not have a provider, my server runs at home and have full access.

7. Hunkmegs: thanks for the info.

Waiting for any help and thanks for your efforts guys!