Urban Terror Forums: Bumpmapping Modifications - Enthusiastic Mappers Required - Urban Terror Forums

Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (112 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Bumpmapping Modifications - Enthusiastic Mappers Required Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#41 User is offline   žalost (old) Icon

• vivisectionist
  • Locationseahorse seahell

Posted 11 October 2008 - 06:34 PM

anyone forgot about crazybump?

and very nice 27.

#42 User is offline   pmt3ddy (old) Icon

Posted 11 October 2008 - 07:00 PM

I am no coder, mapper,  or model designer   I am just a PLAYER and i am just expressing my opions on how i feel about the game about and in my opinion what i would like to see come out this game.

I understand what you're saying. Higher quality/sized textures would make a lot of maps much much nicer.
However, as mappers we have to consider the size of the pk3 too. With so many third party maps as Urban Terror has, anything over 50 MB is just crazy (though I have seen bigger file sizes) because there are people who have to auto download them if a server uses them. Downloading times will be insane.

Not to mention that the quake 3 engine is somewhat outdated. Even if you have high quality textures and above 512x512 size , it'll slow the map down considerably because the engine is simply not build for these kind of sizes. Not saying it can't handle it, it can, but with loss of fps as far as I know.

Plus, with this awesome modification, our pk3's will increase in size even more since we need to include double the amount of textures. First the regular texture and then the _n.tga texture.
And as someone already mentioned, mapping for us is a hobby, not a job. We don't get paid by the hour for mapping, however, we do all we can to create fun maps. Realistic looking or not.

#43 User is offline   Nitro (old) Icon

Posted 11 October 2008 - 07:56 PM