Urban Terror Forums: Changing the console key binding - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Changing the console key binding Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   gma Icon

  • Account: gma
  • Joined: 07-July 11
  • Posts: 2

Posted 07 July 2011 - 04:13 PM

On my Mac keyboard the key that is configured to open the console ("`" – which is "~" when shift is pressed) is inbetween Z and Shift. I want to bind that key to Sprint, but can't persuade UrT to stop toggling the console when it's pressed.

So far I've added this snippet:

unbind "~"
unbind "`"

to this file:

~/Library/Application Support/Quake3/q3ut4/autoexec.cfg

It doesn't have any effect, and "`" still resolutely opens the console.

Is it possible to unbind it? I'd build UrT from source in order to turn this damned key off, if I could. I spent years playing UrT on Linux before getting a Mac, and rely on using that key to Sprint.

Cheers.

#2 User is offline   Haydugjr Icon

  • Account: haydugjr
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 307

Posted 07 July 2011 - 08:23 PM

I'm not sure if you've thought of this or not, but you could use software keyboard editors to change the key to something else. I'm not exactly sure what they're called, but they basically allow you to change your keys. Like I could make pushing X activate Z instead, or P activate CTRL.
Sorry, Caps-Lock broke there for a minute.

#3 User is offline   gma Icon

  • Account: gma
  • Joined: 07-July 11
  • Posts: 2

Posted 08 July 2011 - 04:42 PM

View PostHaydugjr, on 07 July 2011 - 08:23 PM, said:

I'm not sure if you've thought of this or not, but you could use software keyboard editors to change the key to something else.


Interesting idea, thanks. It hadn't occurred to me…

#4 User is offline   klabauterman Icon

  • Account: klabauterman
  • Main tag: aI|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 241

Posted 09 July 2011 - 03:43 PM

Try a different keyboard layout, where that button is not ` or ~ and you can bind it.

BTW, shift-esc opens the console on any platform (in fact any key will open the console but only a few do close it).


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2019 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942