Urban Terror Forums: LAN Server setup - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

LAN Server setup Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   soundriver Icon

  • Account: soundriver
  • Joined: 17-January 12
  • Posts: 4
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 17 January 2012 - 05:39 AM

Hello, i have red many articles and topics here, but my server's problem - it starts on loopback interface, and i can't connect to it from the outside.
Here is output of my start script:


sh start.sh 
ioq3 1.35urt linux-x86_64 Dec 21 2007
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/user/.q3a/q3ut4
/home/user/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak001_assets.pk3 (2411 files)
/home/user/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak000_assets.pk3 (7933 files)
/home/user/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak000.pk3 (99 files)
/home/user/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/ut4_commune.pk3 (150 files)
/home/user/games/urban-terror/q3ut4

----------------------
10593 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Opening IP socket: 192.168.252.8:27960
Hostname: localhost
Alias: sabayon
IP: 127.0.0.1
usage: set <variable> <value>



As you can see only server IP is 127.0.0.1, and of course /connect 192.168.252.8 doesn't work.
I didn't find any information about server ip configuration (except +set net_ip 192.168.252.8, but i don't see any sense in it), so what do i need to do to run server on external ip in LAN (dedicated=1) mode?

This post has been edited by soundriver: 17 January 2012 - 05:58 AM


#2 User is offline   Rambetter Icon

  •   community dev   
  • Account: rambetter
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 1,140
  • Notoriety: basic (gone)

Posted 18 January 2012 - 01:34 AM

Never mind.

This post has been edited by Rambetter: 18 January 2012 - 01:35 AM


#3 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 18 January 2012 - 02:53 AM

View Postsoundriver, on 17 January 2012 - 05:39 AM, said:

so what do i need to do to run server on external ip in LAN (dedicated=1) mode?



you cannot use an external IP in LAN mode.. it by definition is not a local network.

Home servers are also not officially supported. If you want to run a proper server, rent one and get professional set up with support.
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#4 User is offline   soundriver Icon

  • Account: soundriver
  • Joined: 17-January 12
  • Posts: 4
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 18 January 2012 - 07:22 AM

View Postnitro, on 18 January 2012 - 02:53 AM, said:

you cannot use an external IP in LAN mode.. it by definition is not a local network.

Hm i mean external == non-loopback, 192.168.252.8 is what i mean.

#5 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 19 January 2012 - 04:39 PM

View Postsoundriver, on 18 January 2012 - 07:22 AM, said:

Hm i mean external == non-loopback, 192.168.252.8 is what i mean.


192.168.*.* addresses are internal ip's try not setting net_ip and see if the server binds to all known interfaces
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#6 User is offline   soundriver Icon

  • Account: soundriver
  • Joined: 17-January 12
  • Posts: 4
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:36 AM

View Postnitro, on 19 January 2012 - 04:39 PM, said:

192.168.*.* addresses are internal ip's try not setting net_ip and see if the server binds to all known interfaces



sh start.sh 
ioq3 1.35urt linux-x86_64 Dec 21 2007
----- FS_Startup -----
Current search path:
/home/loz/.q3a/q3ut4
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak001_assets.pk3 (2411 files)
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak000_assets.pk3 (7933 files)
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/zpak000.pk3 (99 files)
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/ut4_commune.pk3 (150 files)
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4

----------------------
10593 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
--- Common Initialization Complete ---
Opening IP socket: localhost:27960
Hostname: localhost
Alias: sabayon
IP: 127.0.0.1
usage: set <variable> <value>



The only change is "Opening IP socket: localhost:27960" instead of 192.168.252.8:27960.
Looks like my server lacks in network configuration, but i dont know where the problem is :(

#7 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130
  • Notoriety: basic (afk)

Posted 21 January 2012 - 02:31 AM

what is in your config files:

/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/default.cfg
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/q3config.cfg
/home/loz/games/urban-terror/q3ut4/autoexec.cfg

/home/loz/.q3a/q3ut4/default.cfg
/home/loz/.q3a/q3ut4/q3config.cfg
/home/loz/.q3a/q3ut4/autoexec.cfg

whats the IP of the computer the server is running on, is it static or assigned by DHCP?

Whats the IP of the second computer on the network you are using to test this?

HOW are you testing this?

What networking device have you got? router, modem, gateway? how are the connected?

whats the extact command that your using to launch this server?

are you running any sort of firewall such as iptables?
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#8 User is offline   soundriver Icon

  • Account: soundriver
  • Joined: 17-January 12
  • Posts: 4
  • Notoriety: gone

Posted 23 January 2012 - 03:31 AM

All IPs are static. Server's ip 192.168.252.8, client - 192.168.252.9.
I'm running server, and trying to connect, server is not in a list and /connect doesn't work. Obviously because server listens loopback interface.

Only devices i have - lan switches, computers are in one net.

I'm running server with start.sh script, found here:

#!/bin/bash
while true
do
./ioUrTded.x86_64 +set fs_game q3ut4 +set dedicated 1 +set net_port 27960 +set com_hunkmegs 128 +exec server.cfg
echo "server crashed on `date`" > last_crash.txt
done



There were some rules in iptables, but i flushed rules for all chains and changed default policies to ACCEPT.

I tryed to run server on a second pc and it works. Second pc has gentoo with manual configuration, first - sabayon server with some predefined settings that causes the problem.
I'm gonna ask sabayon devs about it, but any information will be helpfull.

This post has been edited by soundriver: 23 January 2012 - 03:33 AM


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2018 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942