• +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

An optimized? engine for 4.2 Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#21 User is offline   undead Icon

• Account: undead

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:53 AM

View Poststrata, on 07 August 2012 - 11:36 PM, said:

The cvars were renamed because a few months ago, slackin requested that I keep them because he keeps track of sacc users via pugbot. (userinfo strings)

Ick. It's a lot of change for no reason. What if you adjust one info string so it says you use SACC without changing all of that stuff?

Can you not do all of the printf -> dprintf and PRINT_ALL -> PRINT_DEVELOPER stuff? IIRC that's in the official client too but it's just churn. If you want to maintain a fork of ioquake3, you don't want trivial changes like that making your life difficult. Smaller diff is better.

View Poststrata, on 07 August 2012 - 11:36 PM, said:

Because I'm a git noob, this all started with a diff between ioUrbanTerror_2007 - I don't remember what SVN of ioquake3 it was based on (at the time I did lol) - and ioquake3. Then manually hacked it into ioquake3 trunk, added sacc and dmaHD. Then I realized that there needs to be a way to keep track of all these changes. I'm doing my best. Could always use more help! :S

What's your plan for updating if you didn't fork it from an upstream ioquake3? :)

You could base it off of my ioquake3_mirror if you want the latest updates. There's no good solution because I may leave the UrT scene and miss changes. You could of course create your own ioquake3_mirror against their SVN but then you would have the same annoyance that I have with keeping it up to date. It would be best if the ioquake3 project either switched to mercurial or git or had an official mirror so you could trust it.

I would volunteer to help you but my UrT journey ends with 4.x. I just looked at their Sys_StartProcess...

#22 User is offline   BludShoT Icon

• Account: bludshot
  • Main tag: [T]