Urban Terror Forums: UrbanTerror 4.2 with dmaHD sound system - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (11 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

UrbanTerror 4.2 with dmaHD sound system Rate Topic: ****- 3 Votes

UrbanTerror 4.2 with dmaHD sound system by p5yc0runn3r

#71 User is offline   p5yc0runn3r Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Engine Developer
  • Account: p5yc0runn3r
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 375

Posted 17 May 2013 - 02:29 PM

View PostPilou42, on 16 May 2013 - 06:40 PM, said:

It's an i3-2100. I also have a SSD. The PC is quite recent and I really don't think it's a hardware problem (but who knows... recently I change from 4Go Ram to 8 Go).

Can you upload a version with the same optimizations as the previous build (the one without soundcard selector) ? Like this I'll be able to confirm if it's linked. If needed (for tests), you can HL me on IRC.

I have made available 2 versions on the main post. One optimized with MMX/SSE/SSE2 and another non optimized like the original binary. Also added an option to force use of a single CPU core on Windows.
dmaHD developer | engine developer | crazy person

#72 User is offline   p5yc0runn3r Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Engine Developer
  • Account: p5yc0runn3r
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 375

Posted 17 May 2013 - 03:52 PM

Just added a new CVAR to automatically set the process priority to above-normal or high for Windows only.
dmaHD developer | engine developer | crazy person

#73 User is offline   Pilou42 Icon

  • Account: pilou42
  • Country:
  • Joined: 01-March 10
  • Posts: 170

Posted 18 May 2013 - 11:11 PM

I confirm what I though: the MMX/SSE/SSE2 optimized build gives me several lags. I don't have problems with the non-optimized build.
There should be something wrong, since the Core i3 processor (i3 2100) is quite recent.

#74 User is offline   blitzzz Icon

  • Account: blitzzz
  • Main tag: iV.|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 04-June 13
  • Posts: 14

Posted 04 July 2013 - 08:48 AM

Hello psycorunner

I really like the system (with your recommended settings) the sound is much, much better than before but I just notice this one kinda "glitch" I guess that is bugging me.

I am able to hear weapon swaps and gun sounds from way, way far away but they sound like they are right next to me :o

For example (this is what exactly happened):
I was in Sanctuary in a server. I was at the hut place and the enemy was at the stairs to tunnel and I could hear the guy swap weaps and im looking around cos it sounds close and then he shoots his sr8 ( which I could hear as well) and I find out he is waay far away n get confused lol.

please help :/

This post has been edited by blitzzz: 04 July 2013 - 08:48 AM


#75 User is offline   p5yc0runn3r Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Engine Developer
  • Account: p5yc0runn3r
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 375

Posted 04 July 2013 - 09:53 AM

View Postblitzzz, on 04 July 2013 - 08:48 AM, said:

Hello psycorunner

I really like the system (with your recommended settings) the sound is much, much better than before but I just notice this one kinda "glitch" I guess that is bugging me.

I am able to hear weapon swaps and gun sounds from way, way far away but they sound like they are right next to me :o

For example (this is what exactly happened):
I was in Sanctuary in a server. I was at the hut place and the enemy was at the stairs to tunnel and I could hear the guy swap weaps and im looking around cos it sounds close and then he shoots his sr8 ( which I could hear as well) and I find out he is waay far away n get confused lol.

please help :/


Please give me your dmaHD related configuration. What sound card do you have? Are you using a headset or headphones? What executable are you using? (Mine or original 4.2.013?)
dmaHD developer | engine developer | crazy person

#76 User is offline   blitzzz Icon

  • Account: blitzzz
  • Main tag: iV.|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 04-June 13
  • Posts: 14

Posted 04 July 2013 - 12:35 PM

View Postp5yc0runn3r, on 04 July 2013 - 09:53 AM, said:

Please give me your dmaHD related configuration. What sound card do you have? Are you using a headset or headphones? What executable are you using? (Mine or original 4.2.013?)



Okie Dokie

For sound card: dx diag just says high definition audio device (is that what u wanted)

I use headphones

Well I just played the way urt 4.2.13 was n found it annoying so i copy pasted your recommended settings in auto exec (I didnt change ANTH else)

Do you want me to type /s_info and then take a screenshot of the info??

This post has been edited by blitzzz: 04 July 2013 - 12:36 PM


#77 User is offline   Siril Icon

  • Account: siril
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Posts: 4

Posted 05 July 2013 - 07:21 PM

Hello all,

I have a problem with the new sound engine too. I hear some weird crackling after firing or when i receive a chat message. Moreover it seems that there is no intensity, like i have something in my ears.

I used the settings from the first post.

/s_info report that i am in 22050 HZ despite the /s_khz command saying 44khz, don't know if it's related.

I am on linux using the official 4.0.13 client, my sound card must be an intel integrated and i use headset.

There is no issue if i set dmaHD_enable to 0.

If someone has an idea...

#78 User is offline   p5yc0runn3r Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Engine Developer
  • Account: p5yc0runn3r
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 375

Posted 05 July 2013 - 08:58 PM

View PostSiril, on 05 July 2013 - 07:21 PM, said:

Hello all,

I have a problem with the new sound engine too. I hear some weird crackling after firing or when i receive a chat message. Moreover it seems that there is no intensity, like i have something in my ears.

I used the settings from the first post.

/s_info report that i am in 22050 HZ despite the /s_khz command saying 44khz, don't know if it's related.

I am on linux using the official 4.0.13 client, my sound card must be an intel integrated and i use headset.

There is no issue if i set dmaHD_enable to 0.

If someone has an idea...


dmaHD works best at 44KHz. Setting /s_khz in game does not change the rate mid-game. To make sure dmaHD runs at 44KHz, check that you have it set in q3config.cfg as 'seta s_khz "44"' and that you do not have it also set in autoexec.cfg which overrides config.cfg. If you do have it set in autoexec.cfg, set it there as well as 'seta s_khz "44"'

My settings in autoexec.cfg are:
seta s_khz "44"
seta dmaHD_enable "1"
seta dmaHD_interpolation "3"
seta dmaHD_mixer "10"
seta s_mixahead "0.2"
seta s_mixPreStep "0.05"

I also have Realtek integrated audio. These settings sound the same with both my build and also 4.2.013 build.
dmaHD developer | engine developer | crazy person

#79 User is offline   Siril Icon

  • Account: siril
  • Joined: 27-October 12
  • Posts: 4

Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:04 AM

Thanks for your time p5yc0runn3r.

I used your settings and doubled check my autoexec.cfg but the issue remains. (even if i remove the s_khz line from autoexec.cfg which is already in q3config.cfg)


Here are some lines which can help you:


cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [PCH            ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel PCH
                      HDA Intel PCH at 0xd2710000 irq 48

cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep "model name"
model name	: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3612QM CPU @ 2.10GHz





[...]
------ Initializing Sound ------
Initializing SDL audio driver...
SDL audio driver is "pulse".
SDL_AudioSpec:
  Format:   AUDIO_S16LSB
  Freq:     22050
  Samples:  256
  Channels: 2
Starting SDL audio callback...
SDL audio initialized.
p5yc0runn3r's dmaHD sound information
  dmaHD Mixer type: 10 - Hybrid-HRTF [3D]
  2ch - 22050Hz - 16bps
  No sounds loaded yet
Sound initialization successful.
[...]



Then in game:



]\s_info
p5yc0runn3r's dmaHD sound information
  dmaHD Mixer type: 10 - Hybrid-HRTF [3D]
  2ch - 22050Hz - 16bps
  456sounds in 33.46MiB

]\s_khz 
"s_khz" is:"44", the default



#80 User is offline   p5yc0runn3r Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Engine Developer
  • Account: p5yc0runn3r
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-March 10
  • Posts: 375

Posted 06 July 2013 - 09:07 AM

You are running on Linux?
dmaHD developer | engine developer | crazy person

  • (11 Pages)
  • +
  • « First
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2021 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942