Urban Terror Forums: Gameplay impeded by latency or something else? - Urban Terror Forums

Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Gameplay impeded by latency or something else? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   atrophy Icon

• Account: atrophy

Posted 26 February 2015 - 11:43 PM

Before I begin, a bit of background so you know from where I'm coming:

I am a longtime FPS gamer who was at one point among the top OpenArena players in the world, which means I'm no stranger to the ioq3 engine or its derivatives. I wouldn't say I'm an expert, but I've been around the block a fair bit. I've played vanilla Q3, OA, Warsow, Tremulous, Nexuiz (once - it was awful), and Urban Terror. Presently I play primarily UrT and occasionally OA, but since OA development is frankly a complete joke, I much prefer UrT.

All that said, I'm definitely not as good at UrT. I thought I might be, given it's fundamentally the same game mechanics with some changes, but no such luck. Instead, I face more problems than I've ever seen with a free FPS game. Ever.

Namely, I cannot hit anybody. Ever.

For context, we pay decent money monthly for 75/50 Mbit FttP, and it works a charm for everything except UrT. I also happen to be a professional independent IT consultant, so I'm not your average tech-challenged gamer.

I have a fairly powerful machine (built on a budget) that can render UrT at 250-300FPS. Obviously that's silly, so I cap it at 125. I have /cl_maxpackets at 125 and that's about it as far as .cfg tweaks are concerned.

Apparently, the developers of UrT have decided that adjusting snapshots is somehow cheating, so /snaps is locked at 20.