Urban Terror Forums: Gear Menu Discussion - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Gear Menu Discussion

#1 User is offline   KroniK Icon

  •   QA member   
  • Account: kronik
  • Country:
  • Joined: 14-January 11
  • Posts: 305

Posted 19 September 2015 - 07:18 AM

First off I like the new Gear Menu system. I think it has some advantages as well as disadvantages over the old system.

I only have one major complaint, and that is that the list of guns are in a seemingly random order. They are not grouped by type, nor are they alphabetized.

If I could have my way, I would like to see the guns grouped by type and then alphabetized in the primary weapons list. So you would have a heading for auto rifles and a heading for snipers, and a heading for sub-machine guns, a heading for shotguns, and a heading for heavy weapons. Then each of the weapons under that list would be alphabetized so that they are easy to find.

In the secondary and hand gun menus, this isn't necessary although having them alphabetized would be nice.

Anyway those are my thoughts on the matter.

Please discuss


#3 User is online   JRandomNoob Icon

  •   moderator   
    Community Moderator

Posted 19 September 2015 - 08:39 AM

Probably a good time to bring this up again:

Posted Image

Secondary right under the primary (rather than in the middle of nowhere) flows better, and a “Close” button under the portrait means that you can close the menu after making the last change rather than having to reach for the “X” button in the upper corner.
dswp.de
Beginner’s Guide to Urban Terror (woefully out of date)
Daily Deadnade (Last updated September 9, 2016)


#5 User is offline   KroniK Icon

  •   QA member   
  • Account: kronik
  • Country:
  • Joined: 14-January 11
  • Posts: 305

Posted 19 September 2015 - 09:38 AM

Its photoshoped. You can see the barrel of the gun is not where it should be.

bullet_loaderAdvertisement

#6 User is online   JRandomNoob Icon

  •   moderator   
    Community Moderator

Posted 19 September 2015 - 09:41 AM

It’s photoshoppedgimped; I’m entirely clueless abut Quake/UrT menus and it would be more practical to leave the implementation to someone else.
dswp.de
Beginner’s Guide to Urban Terror (woefully out of date)
Daily Deadnade (Last updated September 9, 2016)

#7 User is offline   killspree Icon

  • Account: killspree
  • Main tag: ds`
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-November 12
  • Posts: 310

Posted 19 September 2015 - 10:00 AM

LooL I think your right it can be improved a bit but I think the menu looks good also the 3d preview is nice.

BTW JRrandomnoob did you get my map into 4.3 haha

#8 User is offline   thelionroars Icon

  •   QA member   
  • Account: thelionroars
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-September 11
  • Posts: 853

Posted 19 September 2015 - 10:06 AM

BRING OUT THE GIMP




that is all.

#9 User is online   Iye Icon

  •   head moderator   
    Co-Chief Community Moderator
  • Account: iye
  • Country:
  • Joined: 07-June 11
  • Posts: 1,054

Posted 19 September 2015 - 12:50 PM

I agree with what Kronik said. those menus need some more structure. Also changing the button for secondary weapon like Jrandomnoob suggested seems logical to me.

Also im missing the number keys to select weapons.
in previous versions you could press 2 2 in the weapon select menu and would end up equipping a mp5 as a secondary weapon.

I would like to see a similar system in 4.3.
E.g.: pressing 1 1 1 would get you primary => automatic guns => "whatever gun come 1st in the alphabet."
I got no idea if that's is possible when using those UI script created lists. (which are a pretty smart idea btw :) )

Also in the item selection menu, arrow keys/mousewheel don't work sometimes, as you cant select the already selected items, so your switching through them gets stuck.
Sorry for my bad spelling - I am still asleep. :)

|=| Iye's UrT Addon |=| Firefox Personas |=| Maps |=|
http://www.mediafire...vk3a602hcfg.jpg

#10 User is offline   SilverFoxZ Icon

  •   QA member   
  • Account: silverfoxz
  • Country:
  • Joined: 01-February 11
  • Posts: 2,069

Posted 20 September 2015 - 01:36 AM

Also needs a big arrow (backspace or something as shortcut wich you could set in the options) somewhere in the upper bar to go back to the previous selection screen i think.
I raise komodo dragons in my spare time

  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

  1. Facebook
Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2024 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942