• (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

ubuntu vs. kubuntu Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   F for Fragging (old) Icon

• LocationThe Netherlands

Posted 04 April 2005 - 02:31 PM

I've used a lot of Linux distributions. SuSE Linux, Gentoo, Vidalinux, Debian and currently I've been using Fedora Core 3 for 4 months or so.

SuSE Linux, I used the Personal edition, didn't have much packages and didn't give me much freedom.

I didn't like Gentoo and it's user friendlier clone, Vidalinux, because it took me hours to compile a simple package like Firefox, even on my machine with reasonable specs (Athlon XP 2500+, 512 MB RAM).

I use Fedora now. I like it, but there aren't very much packages and there are way too much different APT repositories. Updates are slow because it's release oriented.

Debian was close to what I was looking for, but the problem that updates are slow and used very old versions of most software.

So I'm planning to switch to (K)Ubuntu. But the question for me is, should I get Kubuntu or Ubuntu? I'm using GNOME 2.8 on Fedora now, but I think that KDE is a better choice. For example, KDE software like AmaroK and Kaffeine seems to be a lot better than it's GNOME counterparts Rhytmbox and Totem.

So I was wondering, what are your experiences with Kubuntu and Ubuntu, and KDE 3.4 and GNOME 2.10 in specific?

I already tried out the Live CD's, but I'm not sure yet, that's why I'd like to hear your opinions.

#2 User is offline   SecretSauce (old) Icon

• LocationHerndon, VA

Posted 06 April 2005 - 08:49 PM