• (5 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

How Did It All Begin? Rate Topic: -----

The Story of how you found UrT

#22 User is offline   roguehardkore Icon

Posted 20 April 2017 - 07:13 AM

Well lets see. I was a q3 Instagib fanboy. Loved flying around on trampoline pad things snapping around one shotting people with my newly released Geforce4 ti and amd 2500 based system. I was reading around on some forums and stumbled across Urban terror. I think it was right around the release of UrT 2.8 that i started playing. I played almost every day, started with CTF then became obsessed with TS. Joined a few different teams {UB} then |R|ogue then {BoS} did some competitive runs that were a lot of fun. Made a lot of friends, only 1 of which i still have contact with almost 15 years later. Whizperz from BoS. I still wonder how my old friends are doing. people like the Scottish guy Afterthenightmare. and Canadian Ev1lAl3x, My favorite pubstar The Juan. I bet we played hundreds of hours of Ctf against each other. I come on here every blue moon and look at who is on the forums and never recognize any names.

#23 User is offline   Critofur Icon

• Account: critofur

Posted 30 April 2017 - 04:31 PM

I had somehow missed Wolfenstien 3d, but when I built my first own PC it was around the time Doom came out.

I tried it and I was totally hooked - I played either all the way through or most of the way through both Doom and Doom II but MultiPlayer was where it's at, so much more fun to play against human players.

It was a constant struggle to find a good connection to a good server back then using dialup modems. Having my first good quality 56K modem was simply amazing, probably worth more than a bar of gold to me (that is, if I couldn't sell use the money from selling it to buy more modems).