Urban Terror Forums: Linux based Server - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
Page 1 of 1

Linux based Server Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   3dmatrix Icon

  • Account: 3dmatrix
  • Joined: 13-March 14
  • Posts: 5

Posted 20 May 2019 - 08:47 AM

I wish to run a UT server for a private group, but on internet.
I wish to run it on a Linux computer.
When I use the "Start Server" option in UT game start page, my entire system freezes. I have to hard boot after that.
Can anyone kindly help me with some simple and basic guidance.

#2 User is online   Iye Icon

  •   head moderator   
    Co-Chief Community Moderator
  • Account: iye
  • Country:
  • Joined: 07-June 11
  • Posts: 974

Posted 20 May 2019 - 10:58 AM

You will want to run a dedicated server instead of hosting it from the ingame menu. The manual about that can be found here
Sorry for my bad spelling - I am still asleep. :)

|=| Iye's UrT Addon |=| Firefox Personas |=| Maps |=|
http://www.mediafire...vk3a602hcfg.jpg

#3 User is offline   3dmatrix Icon

  • Account: 3dmatrix
  • Joined: 13-March 14
  • Posts: 5

Posted 20 May 2019 - 06:07 PM

View PostIye, on 20 May 2019 - 10:58 AM, said:

You will want to run a dedicated server instead of hosting it from the ingame menu. The manual about that can be found here


I play UT on my computer. Are its server files not there in my computer ?
Do I have to download a 'Server version' of UT ?

#4 User is offline   3dmatrix Icon

  • Account: 3dmatrix
  • Joined: 13-March 14
  • Posts: 5

Posted 20 May 2019 - 06:12 PM

If I wish to start a dedicated server do I need to have a static IP ?
If not, how can my friends see it on Internet ?

#5 User is online   Iye Icon

  •   head moderator   
    Co-Chief Community Moderator
  • Account: iye
  • Country:
  • Joined: 07-June 11
  • Posts: 974

Posted 20 May 2019 - 11:27 PM

The files are all included with your installation. Just follow that guide. The executables are called Quake3-UrT-Ded.*.

You dont need a static ip. If you run with dedicated 2 the your server will report its information to the master server. Check the server.cfg for more information.

Your firends will then be able to see it in the ingame server browser. If you dont want that, you can set dedicated to a different value and tell them your IP and have them connect to it manually.
Sorry for my bad spelling - I am still asleep. :)

|=| Iye's UrT Addon |=| Firefox Personas |=| Maps |=|
http://www.mediafire...vk3a602hcfg.jpg

bullet_loaderAdvertisement
Page 1 of 1


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2019 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942