Advertisement
Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

ntfs +linux ? Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Frea]{ (old) Icon

• LocationBrussels, Belgium

Posted 05 April 2006 - 10:19 AM

i recently installed pclinux, im new to linux.

on the HD where i installed pclinux, i also have some older ntfs partitions with files idlike to keep/use.

atm i can read them but cant write on these partitions but i just saw in synaptic linux update program a pack called " captive" , that is supposed to able linux to read/qrite on ntfs, does anyone know it , and knowif is worth a try or dangerous for those ntfs partitions ?

or is there a way to convert ntfs partition into linux partitions without deleting files ?

thx in advance for help. :)

#2 User is offline   rednex Icon

• Account: rednex
  • Main tag: [Laus]

Posted 05 April 2006 - 10:57 AM

I'll try to be of some help even though I really don't know much. I run a Debian system, and I suspect that pclinux is also debian based, since you have the synaptic installer.

I have to admit that I haven't actually written anything to my NTFS partitions, but I can mount them as Read/Write - no problem. There are some differences between Linux and Windows when it comes to file permissions and such, so I'm not sure how those two will blend. You can always try to drop some dummy files on the NTFS partition and see how it reacts. I don't think there's any danger of killing your existing files that way.

I can't think of any way to convert an NTFS partition to Linux without killing tha data in the process. If you have some free space, you could use PowerQuest Partition Magic to resize the original NTFS parition and create a Linux partition on the free space. Move some data from NTFS to Linux and repeat. However, that's a slow and pretty dangerous operation, so you'd be better off making a complete backup and starting over.

#3 User is offline   mitsubishi Icon

• Account: mitsubishi