Urban Terror Forums: Important info for mappers about 4.0 - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Important info for mappers about 4.0 Rate Topic: -----

#1 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 30 August 2006 - 08:51 AM

An important notice for 3rd party MAPPERS if you want your maps to be played in the next release:

-Since UrT won't require quake3 and its pakfiles anymore, you will have to make a new version of your map if it uses ANYTHING from the baseq3-paks (textures/sounds/shaders/models/whatever). Make it so it wont need any q3-files and is completely independant of quake3. Also, alot of the stuff in the urbanterror-paks will be renamed/moved or even deleted for the new release. So you prolly have to go over the map and check everything is okay.

-Also Oswald announced in the radio-show that r_mapoverbrightbits and r_overbrightbits are going to be locked to 0. So you will also have to change the lighting in your levels to match this settings. set r_overbrightbits 0 and r_mapoverbrightbits 0 and vid_restart to test.  If you dont change the lighting, your map will appear way too dark.

-About the naming. Maps for the next version should be called ut4_mapname . This is so users can easily see if a map is compatible with the new version. Also the .pk3 name should be the same as the .bsp name and it shouldn't start with a 'z'.

Now a more positive thing: The people who will use ioUrbanTerror to play Urban Terror (probably almost all the newbies who dont have quake3) will be able to use http-redirecting-auto-downloads. Servers can specificy a http-location where the client should get a map. This means newbies can download 3rd party maps quickly without a hassle. Also, it will only download the map thats really needed, not all maps, like it used to be.

-To make the auto-download work, your .bsp-name should be the same as the .pk3-name (for example: ut_banana.bsp should be in ut_banana.pk3). Do not use names start with a 'z' (ut4_zzzz is fine, zut4_xxx not). Don't use ut_banana-update.pk3 to update your map. Instead make a full new build ut_banana2.pk3. Don't make .pk3's with many different .bsp's in it. Make a seperate .pk3 for every .bsp and zip the pk3's if you want people to be able to download them all at once. More info at http://www.forums.ur...7.html#msg89907 and http://www.forums.ur...5.html#msg90075

Edit: Updated a little with tub's info.

#2 User is offline   mitsubishi Icon

  • Account: mitsubishi
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 13,481

Posted 30 August 2006 - 01:34 PM

no baseq3 assets are replaced and all maps included in the release use in the place of that art, new ones? e.g. if an official and 3rd party map used textures/whatever/something.tga from baseq3 will it be for certain now in another path or that's not definitely the case?

#3 User is offline   EL_PRESEDENTE (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-January 04
  • Posts: 350

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:07 PM

well if a mapper used somthing like map packer or some automated process to package there map the baseq3 files would be copied into there maps pk3 which should also work if say someone used a light texture in a different map and didnt packages said texture but someone else did it would pick the texture out as even though in seperate files its all still one file system

#4 User is offline   Hybridesque (old) Icon

  • Joined: 08-February 04
  • Posts: 427
  • LocationBradford, UK

Posted 30 August 2006 - 02:41 PM

having baseq3 assets in this instance would violate the Quake III Arena EULA, when the mod is going to be standalone.

#5 User is offline   EL_PRESEDENTE (old) Icon

  • Joined: 21-January 04
  • Posts: 350

Posted 30 August 2006 - 04:01 PM

but i created a map for quake 3 honest  :-D

#6 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 30 August 2006 - 05:09 PM

Quote

no baseq3 assets are replaced and all maps included in the release use in the place of that art, new ones? e.g. if an official and 3rd party map used textures/whatever/something.tga from baseq3 will it be for certain now in another path or that's not definitely the case?


I dont really get what you are saying here, sorry. The official maps wont usy any quake3-textures. They wont be inthere at all. The will be replaced by FS's own.

As a 3rd party mapper you could always just throw that quake3 textures in your own .pk3, but it wouldnt be 100% legal, but noone would care.

#7 User is offline   mitsubishi Icon

  • Account: mitsubishi
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 13,481

Posted 30 August 2006 - 05:33 PM

what i meant, if you run urt 3.7 in algiers without baseq3 art, you get some texture images missing. say for example one of them is in textures/brown/red.jpg of baseq3. would algiers on the next version have that texture for sure replaced on another path or it'd be the same path baseq3 used? I mean, would even paths used from files of baseq3 be different?

(I guess they most probably are different to avoid confusion/using two files depending on the case, so if I still don't make sense, nevermind  :-D)

#8 User is offline   Hybridesque (old) Icon

  • Joined: 08-February 04
  • Posts: 427
  • LocationBradford, UK

Posted 30 August 2006 - 06:18 PM

probably just create a new texture and have it in it's ut_algiers or whatever folder.  They aren't likely to create a texture to replace say, base_wall/concrete_dark and then have it as base_wall/concrete_dark...

1) it doesn't make sense
2) it's more convenient to have all your textures in one place.

#9 User is offline   tub (old) Icon

  • Joined: 07-February 04
  • Posts: 464
  • Locationut_abbey

Posted 03 September 2006 - 02:54 AM

Yeah all baseq3 textures are being replaced with different textures. In ut_algiers both:
baseq3pak0.pk3//textures/base_trim/pewter.jpg and
baseq3pak0.pk3//textures/gothic_floor/largeblockfloor4.jpg
have been repalced with one of the evil_lair/hfx wood textures.

But it's more than the baseq3 textures that are going to be changed. A lot of the textures in the current urban terror directory are being moved around and renamed. That has a lot to do with changing the texture brightness after the m/obb 0 change. Also a lot of textures that aren't used in maps we use in the standalone are going to be deleted. So in short, assume the worst, and that you'll have to retexture your map to convert it from ut3.7 to ut standalone.

That and redoing the brightness is a lot of work I know. Just be thankful you don't have to do it for 5 maps like me :)

#10 User is offline   Woekele Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Public Relations
  • Account: woekele
  • Country:
  • Joined: 26-January 10
  • Posts: 11,575

Posted 20 September 2006 - 11:36 PM

Oh and to all mappers: Please back-up your .map's somewhere :D Tnx.

  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2021 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942