Urban Terror Forums: [SOLVED] Healthy map - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

[SOLVED] Healthy map Rate Topic: -----

A lot of useful stuff here!

#1 User is offline   MajkiFajki Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: majkifajki
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • Posts: 1,583

Posted 22 May 2011 - 03:07 PM

Which guidelines shoud I follow to make my map's code 'healthy'?
Faster compilation time, moar fps during play, less mb-bsp, less mb used while playing, faster loading?


For example, this is log from compiling of my map:
http://pastebin.com/deN7cfa6

This post has been edited by majkifajki: 24 May 2011 - 01:26 PM


#2 User is offline   NulL Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Level Designer
  • Account: null
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-April 09
  • Posts: 2,606

Posted 22 May 2011 - 03:34 PM

I outright refuse to help anyone who willingly types 'moar' instead of more.

Also there not much I can tell you from the compile logs, I'd really have to see the compiled map itself.

#3 User is offline   MajkiFajki Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: majkifajki
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • Posts: 1,583

Posted 22 May 2011 - 03:38 PM

Gosh

I must remeber about "internet humor" next time. I had in mind all this players, who concern only about fps, when play maps (I found them really annoying).

Compiled map is here (but it's still far from release).

This post has been edited by majkifajki: 22 May 2011 - 03:38 PM


#4 User is offline   NulL Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Level Designer
  • Account: null
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-April 09
  • Posts: 2,606

Posted 22 May 2011 - 04:30 PM

1. ALL texture sizes must be power of 2 (64,128,256,512,1024 etc) (Saves pk3 space, by not wasting texture data)
2. Don't include .md3 or .qc model files (reduces pk3 size)
3. Don't create shaders for standard textures eg
textures/infiltration/bunkerwall3
{
    {
        map $lightmap
    }
    {
        map textures/infiltration/bunkerwall3.jpg
        blendFunc filter
    }
}

is wasted because texture*lightmap is the standard format (saves loading times(slightly) and pk3 space(slightly))

4. Remove unused shaders from shader file.
5. Remove wasted texture space, see all the whitespace in 5th.jpg (reduces pk3 size and memory usage and increases fps)
6. Remove unused textures from pk3 (is final_redner.jpg used?) (reduces pk3 size)
7. Use areaportals to cull rooms hat have all their doors shut (potential fps increase)
8. Don't leave textured surfaces under stair cases (reduces surface/triangle count and memory usage)


A. Custom door sounds are appreciated although I think there are too many doors. I find they disrupt gameplay too much. You may notice that the most popular maps have almost no intractable entities (Casa, Abbey, Algiers, Riyadh, Austria, Prague, Sanc, Ramelle, Uptown(only 1 door), turnpikes has a few doors but its an anomaly).


Overall you don't have much to worry about on the fps side of things. Theres little detail in the map and good VIS blocking; I struggled to find any point where the surface count even reached 2000. I tell people to keep the surface counts below 3000, so you have plenty of room for more detail.

There's quite a bit to do on the pk3 size side of things; the map is currently 28mb I think as it stand it could easily be pushed under 20mb, or even 15mb at a push.

#5 User is offline   MajkiFajki Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: majkifajki
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • Posts: 1,583

Posted 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM

Oh my God.


Thanks Null, I really appreciate Your response and help.

Quote

1. ALL texture sizes must be power of 2 (64,128,256,512,1024 etc) (Saves pk3 space, by not wasting texture data)

Only one texture is not power of 2 (small though - currently it's fixed).

Quote

2. Don't include .md3 or .qc model files (reduces pk3 size)

Some md3 models are not in standard UrT installation. Or I am blind as a bat.

Quote

3. Don't create shaders for standard textures eg

Thanks!

Quote

4. Remove unused shaders from shader file.

Thanks! Is there easy way to print out all used textures for faster finding unused ones in shader.file?

Quote

5. Remove wasted texture space, see all the whitespace in 5th.jpg (reduces pk3 size and memory usage and increases fps)

Well - I have tried alpha-channel in TGA, can get in to work :sad: Used Gimp, unchecked compression during exporting.

Quote

6. Remove unused textures from pk3 (is final_redner.jpg used?) (reduces pk3 size)

What is "final_redner.jpg"? :rolleyes:

Quote

7. Use areaportals to cull rooms hat have all their doors shut (potential fps increase)

Well, we're getting rod of doors, do we? :biggrin:


Quote

8. Don't leave textured surfaces under stair cases (reduces surface/triangle count and memory usage)

My bad.

Quote

I struggled to find any point where the surface count even reached 2000. I tell people to keep the surface counts below 3000, so you have plenty of room for more detail.


How can I check how many surface counts I have?

bullet_loaderAdvertisement

#6 User is offline   NulL Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Level Designer
  • Account: null
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-April 09
  • Posts: 2,606

Posted 22 May 2011 - 05:29 PM

View Postmajkifajki, on 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

Only one texture is not power of 2 (small though - currently it's fixed).

Most of the textures in the pk3 you gave me were not power of 2 resolution.

View Postmajkifajki, on 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

Some md3 models are not in standard UrT installation. Or I am blind as a bat.

Map models are baked into the .bsp file, the game doesn't need them.

View Postmajkifajki, on 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

What is "final_redner.jpg"? :rolleyes:

Its in one of the model folders

View Postmajkifajki, on 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

Well, we're getting rod of doors, do we? :biggrin:

What?

View Postmajkifajki, on 22 May 2011 - 04:55 PM, said:

How can I check how many surface counts I have?

r_speeds 1
cg_standardchat 1

Surface counts are the 2nd number from the left (red). Triangle counts are further down (blue):

Posted Image

#7 User is offline   ValkoVer Icon

  •   mapper   
  • Account: valkover
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 645

Posted 22 May 2011 - 05:44 PM

You can use lower lightmap resolution, by adding "_lightmapscale" key with value higher than 1 (You can add this key to worldspawn, func_group, and entity like door). I used it on some maps, it will help increase fps, and reduce .bsp size and compiling time. http://www.gd-experi...=2&category=17v

#8 User is offline   MajkiFajki Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: majkifajki
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • Posts: 1,583

Posted 23 May 2011 - 08:00 AM

Thanks guys.

One more question - to not start new thread.

Quote

failed to get a listening socket on port 39000


Sometimes I get this error. Compiling for 3th, 4th time is successful, sometimes compilation go fine for the at the first time.


What's a policy behind this common error?

#9 User is offline   NulL Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Level Designer
  • Account: null
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-April 09
  • Posts: 2,606

Posted 23 May 2011 - 06:22 PM

Stop compiling from within radiant.

Grab q3map2toolz or write your own batch files.

#10 User is offline   MajkiFajki Icon

  •   former FS member   
    Mapper
  • Account: majkifajki
  • Country:
  • Joined: 11-January 11
  • Posts: 1,583

Posted 24 May 2011 - 12:35 PM

View PostNulL, on 23 May 2011 - 06:22 PM, said:

Stop compiling from within radiant.

Grab q3map2toolz or write your own batch files.


Thanks for advice Mr Null.

I'm using this script now:
#!/bin/sh

set -e

if [ "$#" -ne 1 ]; then
  echo "Expected exactly one argument.  Example usage:" 2>&1
  echo "  `basename \"${0}\"` ut4_world.map" 2>&1
  exit 1
fi
MAPNAME="$1"
Q3MAP2="${HOME}/ZeroRadiant/q3map2"
URTDIR="${HOME}/UrbanTerror"
"${Q3MAP2}" -v -threads 1 -game quake3 -fs_basepath "${URTDIR}" \
  -fs_game q3ut4 -meta -patchmeta -subdivisions 1 "${MAPNAME}"
"${Q3MAP2}" -v -threads 1 -game quake3 -fs_basepath "${URTDIR}" \
  -fs_game q3ut4 -vis -saveprt "${MAPNAME}"
"${Q3MAP2}" -v -threads 1 -game quake3 -fs_basepath "${URTDIR}" \
  -fs_game q3ut4 -light -nocollapse -fast -samples 3 -bounce 2 -patchshadows \
  "${MAPNAME}"


From this famous webpage.

Result:
Left side - bulit-in compilation from GTK (5 minutes to compile)
Right side - script (40 minutes to compile)

Posted Image

This post has been edited by majkifajki: 24 May 2011 - 01:24 PM


  • (3 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Sponsored link
https://www.frozensand.com/


Copyright © 1999-2024 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942