Urban Terror Forums: Server-side demo recording - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Server-side demo recording Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#21 User is offline   looza Icon

  • Account: looza
  • Main tag: gXS.
  • Country:
  • Joined: 21-September 10
  • Posts: 56

Posted 26 May 2012 - 10:38 AM

I like this new feature :)
would be cool when its possible to specify a location for the demos folder in a cvar to make it easier to make it accessible by web.

good work :)

keep on rocking xD

#22 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130

Posted 26 May 2012 - 08:00 PM

View Postlooza, on 26 May 2012 - 10:38 AM, said:

I like this new feature :)
would be cool when its possible to specify a location for the demos folder in a cvar to make it easier to make it accessible by web.

good work :)

keep on rocking xD



just create a symlink in your webs directory and point it to the demo folder....
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#23 User is offline   Divinity Icon

  • Account: divinity
  • Main tag: /eVo/
  • Joined: 01-March 10
  • Posts: 252

Posted 27 May 2012 - 01:13 PM

Slightly off topic, but is there any advantage to running the 64 bit server build on a 64 bit system over 32 bit? Besides issues with bots, are there known issues to using 64 bit server builds?

I remember running a 64 bit custom build once that had some sort of constant degredation issue that eventually made the server unplayable and I wonder if that was an isolated bug or a larger problem.

#24 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130

Posted 27 May 2012 - 06:50 PM

use 32bit - 64bit just use more ram, and cpu. I dont know why but 64 bit just seemed to be worse every time i ran it, and there was a noticeable lag in game that couldnt be explained. rambetter and other coders recommend 32 bit on 64 bit platforms. 64bit doesnt add anything that would benefit a client as far as i am aware.
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#25 User is offline   Divinity Icon

  • Account: divinity
  • Main tag: /eVo/
  • Joined: 01-March 10
  • Posts: 252

Posted 28 May 2012 - 02:05 PM

I decided to do some quick research and it would appear that compiling for 64 bit instruction set is most advantageous when you code your software with that in mind which makes sense really.

So unless someone there are some flags for a different compilation path when 64 bit is set, I can't imagine it would be particularly useful. I just find it odd that it would be offered in the first place if it isn't beneficial and could even be harmful.

bullet_loaderAdvertisement

#26 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130

Posted 29 May 2012 - 08:31 PM

View PostDivinity, on 28 May 2012 - 02:05 PM, said:

I decided to do some quick research and it would appear that compiling for 64 bit instruction set is most advantageous when you code your software with that in mind which makes sense really.

So unless someone there are some flags for a different compilation path when 64 bit is set, I can't imagine it would be particularly useful. I just find it odd that it would be offered in the first place if it isn't beneficial and could even be harmful.



some people dont want to have the 32bit compatibility libs installed on their servers, plus i think rambetter said something about the QVM game code not being optimised for 64bit. both are compiled simply to offer people a choice.
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#27 User is offline   Res Icon

  • Account: res
  • Main tag: TheGANG]
  • Country:
  • Joined: 25-May 12
  • Posts: 4

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:27 PM

is it possible for this build to be combined with rambetter's exploits?

#28 User is offline   Nitro Icon

  •   former FS member   
  • Account: nitro
  • Main tag: |PWNY|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 15-March 10
  • Posts: 1,130

Posted 29 May 2012 - 10:58 PM

not directly.
Corsair 230T Orange | Intel 6600K @ 4.8GHz | 16GB DDR4 2133MHz | 512GB Samsung 950pro NVMe SSD | 8GB AMD Radeon RX-480

#29 User is offline   spaz Icon

  • Account: spaz
  • Main tag: |WC|
  • Joined: 08-May 10
  • Posts: 7

Posted 30 May 2012 - 02:02 AM

SV_NameServerDemo is vulnerable to buffer overflow, I haven't tested/done a proof of concept but it might also accept alphanumeric shellcode via playername (although the window avalible is pretty small, it should be sufficient to jump away into some more malicous code that is already on hand in the server). The do/while loop needs to go, in favor of a sane method of determining file name. (line 991 of server/sv_ccmds.c)

#30 User is offline   OHMEGA Icon

  • Account: ohmega
  • Main tag: |ALPHA|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 03-March 10
  • Posts: 209

Posted 09 June 2012 - 02:23 AM

View PostOHMEGA, on 23 May 2012 - 06:24 AM, said:

You should credit MadProfessor and Mission on your github.



No?

  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

bullet_disabledSponsored link
https://www.frozensand.com/


Copyright © 1999-2019 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942