Advertisement
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ut_mastermind -- Coming Soon (again) Rate Topic: -----

#1 Guest_=BAND=Squad Leader

Posted 14 February 2005 - 10:03 PM

I doubt many people remember the spectacular announcement of my soon to be released map in December, and that's a good thing. I was close to releasing it when I stepped back, looked at it, and puked. The layout was solid, but the texturing was pathetic. I'm not very good with textures, but I knew that I could do better than that.

So now it's back, ut_mastermind, a space station being used by a mastermind(woah) to capture or destroy all urban terror maps. I found it sort of funny yesterday when I was looking at the map, because it is in many ways a commentary on other maps. Funny that I conclude it then, right in the midst of controversy(ok, that was too strong a word) over what maps should be in ETUT.

The layout is fairly small but is detailed enough to provide a strategic game. I tweaked it a bit from where it was in December, but it, along with the framerate is what I've always been happy about with the map.

I was talking to Shminky this morning and he told me that it looked like a good Quake 3 map, but not an Urban Terror map. I've been thinking that myself while building it, but I guess that's what you should expect when building a space station for this game. In my previous texturing attempt, I tried to walk the line between an earthly environment and a space station and failed miserably. The second time around, I just thought, if I'm gonna build a space station, I'm gonna build a space station, not an office building in space, and if it looks like it should be in Quake 3, I'll live.

Huge thanks to MCinBigD, who gave me the kick in the pants I needed to get on with this.

Right now I'm polishing it up nice and shiny, so you should expect to see it ... when it's done.