• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Urban Terror and popularity Rate Topic: -----

#51 User is offline   cessquill Icon

• Account: cessquill

Posted 15 July 2016 - 10:17 AM

View PostZenity, on 15 July 2016 - 10:01 AM, said:

Of course the flipside is that skilled players enjoy the feeling of complete dominance over weaker players, essentially becoming untouchable. But satisfying a small number of elite players at the expense of the majority of average players is generally not a recipe for success... Unfortunately the elite players tend to be the most vocal in community forums, which can skew perceptions quite dramatically. Striking the right balance in this regard is always one of the hardest parts of multiplayer game design, and it's something we need to tackle properly.

This. I've been playing for probably 8 years or so, but will never be all that good. I've been on servers where I've been absolutely slaughtered. I've appreciated that the people I'm playing against are in another class than me and I've moved on. I still play daily on servers where I'm normally mid-table if I'm lucky. I'll never get much beyond noob status - partly because i'm too casual/not competitive enough, and partly because I'm just not that good. If there wasn't a place to go where I wasn't mocked or holding people back I'd have jumped ship a long time ago. I don't know whether I'm in the masses, but I still enjoy this game and look forward to new developments.

#52 User is offline   Magister Icon

• Account: magister

Posted 15 July 2016 - 10:44 AM

This is why I love CTF so much.  I can be middle of the pack, not the best shooter on the server, but then I can make a huge impact on the game by knowing where to be at the exact right moment 8-) And for me that is a satisfying feeling.

This post has been edited by Magister: 15 July 2016 - 10:44 AM

#54 User is offline   dynomite33 Icon

• Account: dynomite33
  • Main tag: [SQD]