Urban Terror Forums: 4.2/4.3 Maps Missing Texture Issue Revisited - Urban Terror Forums

Jump to content

 Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

4.2/4.3 Maps Missing Texture Issue Revisited Rate Topic: ***** 1 Votes

#1 User is offline   schroeder Icon

  • Account: schroeder
  • Country:
  • Joined: 05-August 12
  • Posts: 24

Posted 26 October 2017 - 09:36 PM

This is a legal question --

Re: discussion earlier this year of many 4.2 3p maps "missing textures" under 4.3 (http://www.urbanterr...post__p__369204) would FSL mind if I experimented with creating a "4.2 texture pack" that will allow 4.3 to play all of 4.2 maps? Prior posts estimated few hundred megs - seems small by today's standard (my typical Steam game downloads are 4-6 gigs these days), but it would open up so many nostalgic maps again. The plan:

1. Create & Test .pk3
2. If successful send a copy to FSL staff only for evaluation
3. No other distributions unless permission is given

Ultimately would FSL consider supporting something like this officially, either as part of full installer, or perhaps "extra download" component?

-Schroder


#3 User is offline   schroeder Icon

  • Account: schroeder
  • Country:
  • Joined: 05-August 12
  • Posts: 24

Posted 07 November 2017 - 09:17 AM

Thanks Barbatos -

As it turns out it was not very difficult. I just took the folder difference between 4.3 and 4.2.23, and created what was missing (I ignored what was updated). I did some limited testing (concrete_bots, city6, few others) and they seem to work fine.

Size of this .pk3 is about 344M. I sent you PM w/ the download link.

I could use some help testing - ok to post the link here?

-Schroeder


#5 User is offline   TheRealFubar Icon

  • Account: therealfubar
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 132

Posted 07 November 2017 - 06:45 PM

Sound like the old pak0.pk3 trick from years gone by.

bullet_loaderAdvertisement

#6 User is offline   schroeder Icon

  • Account: schroeder
  • Country:
  • Joined: 05-August 12
  • Posts: 24

Posted 08 November 2017 - 08:49 AM

View PostBarbatos, on 07 November 2017 - 02:00 PM, said:

Thanks! Feel free to post a link there so other people can test this pk3.



Description:
Repackaged textures pk3 from 4.2.23 that does not exist in 4.3.2 release package. Please consider this experimental. I've only tested this on about 3 maps with known texture problems. Post your feedbacks here.

Download (about 344megs):
Euro: http://eos2.confluvi...T43_901-42t.pk3
North America: http://ares.confluvi...T43_901-42t.pk3

Instructions:
Copy into your q3ut4 folder.
If something goes wrong, simply remove from q3ut4 folder.

I'd be happy to setup a temporary test server w/ lots of 3rd party maps with "vote" enabled unless... someone else can help out here???

#7 User is offline   Rappio Icon

  •   mapper   
  • Account: rappio
  • Main tag: [PRKL]
  • Country:
  • Joined: 28-February 10
  • Posts: 484

Posted 08 November 2017 - 12:59 PM

View Postschroeder, on 08 November 2017 - 08:49 AM, said:

Description:
Repackaged textures pk3 from 4.2.23 that does not exist in 4.3.2 release package. Please consider this experimental. I've only tested this on about 3 maps with known texture problems. Post your feedbacks here.

Download (about 344megs):
Euro: http://eos2.confluvi...T43_901-42t.pk3
North America: http://ares.confluvi...T43_901-42t.pk3

Instructions:
Copy into your q3ut4 folder.
If something goes wrong, simply remove from q3ut4 folder.

I'd be happy to setup a temporary test server w/ lots of 3rd party maps with "vote" enabled unless... someone else can help out here???


Nice work man, to help keep file alive here is

Another EU mirror: http://nordicterror....T43_901-42t.pk3
What is the sound of silent scream when you still map with GTK Radiant 1.5

#8 User is offline   schroeder Icon

  • Account: schroeder
  • Country:
  • Joined: 05-August 12
  • Posts: 24

Posted 08 November 2017 - 05:49 PM

Here are some anomalies to watch for:

1. For this to work in a client-server environment, the server must run with sv_pure set to "0".

2. If a client (player) has this file installed in his/her q3ut4 folder and visits a server that uses a map that calls up any of the missing textures contained in this .pk3, it will likely kick you off the server for non-pure violation. This is because most servers run with sv_pure set to "1" which is the default. Many servers today run maps that are slightly blemished by the missing texture issue, but generally playable.

** Therefore if you are not comfortable working with the ioq3 environment (i.e., the above statement didn't make sense to you) please do not try this experiment. **

#9 User is offline   Iye Icon

  •   head moderator   
    Co-Chief Community Moderator
  • Account: iye
  • Country:
  • Joined: 07-June 11
  • Posts: 984

Posted 08 November 2017 - 09:08 PM

View Postschroeder, on 08 November 2017 - 05:49 PM, said:

2. If a client (player) has this file installed in his/her q3ut4 folder and visits a server that uses a map that calls up any of the missing textures contained in this .pk3, it will likely kick you off the server for non-pure violation.


Actually it wont. Or at least shouldnt.

Your client will only load packages in the pure list it gets, and hence will just no load the "new" textures, which would be identical to not having the pack in the first place. This is why, e.g. my (and other peoples) menu mods work until you connect to a server, where you just have the games menus, and upon exit you are stuck with the games menus again (until a reload), because the assets got "un-loaded".

Anyways, good job on this. Though i think i recall at least a list of textured removed for 4.3 somewhere. Probably done by JohnnyEnglish. Not sure though.
Sorry for my bad spelling - I am still asleep. :)

|=| Iye's UrT Addon |=| Firefox Personas |=| Maps |=|
http://www.mediafire...vk3a602hcfg.jpg

#10 User is offline   drunkrabbit Icon

  • Account: drunkrabbit
  • Main tag: |RFA|
  • Country:
  • Joined: 13-October 13
  • Posts: 72

Posted 09 November 2017 - 07:33 PM

So just a quick question.. This should be done server side only? No need to put it in my client?

This post has been edited by drunkrabbit: 09 November 2017 - 07:34 PM


  • (2 Pages)
  • +
  • 1
  • 2
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Advertisement


Copyright © 1999-2019 Frozensand Games Limited  |  All rights reserved  |  Urban Terror™ and FrozenSand™ are trademarks of Frozensand Games Limited

Frozensand Games is a Limited company registered in England and Wales. Company Reg No: 10343942