Urban Terror Forums: Two little things I'm missing (radio and crosshair) - Urban Terror Forums

Login | Register 
Advertisement
  • (4 Pages)
  • +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Two little things I'm missing (radio and crosshair)

#21 User is offline   Spacebar (old) Icon

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:19 PM

Years ago when Quake2 went GPL, i was making(one other person on this team) a standalone multi player game, in our game we programmed the crosshairs so with a cvar could enable 'color inversion' (im not sure the technical term or the openGL blend mode, since im only a mapper/skinner/2/3d artist).

Basically this would allow you to use ANY crosshair, but it would automatically separately shift each pixel of the crosshairs color (greyscale) to the OPPOSITE color you put it on.

The reason for this was our game had a lot of real contrasty lighting, thus making it so your crosshair could go from a real dark area, to a REAL bright highlight coming from a light fixtures corona. Therefor when you looked at SOLID white it became black, but if you looked at black it became white. This system worked 100% perfect, because for it to fail you would need PERFECT RGB values of 128 128 128 (absolutely middle grey) wich rarely happens in any game.

This also allowed you to use large, small, or odd shaped crosshairs as they would always be visible regardless of resolution and hardware. So we used this setting as the default for all, but could be turned off in the options, or console.

IMO also, a HEXAGONAL crosshair would also be a great addition due to the way the brain naturally centers geometric shapes.
Read here:http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HexSite
:-D

#22 User is offline   mitsubishi Icon

• Account: mitsubishi

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:21 PM

how is that better than a circle.

#23 User is offline   PatientZero (old) Icon

Posted 18 June 2007 - 07:24 PM