• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is Map Making Craft dying? Rate Topic: -----

#41 User is offline   BludShoT Icon

• Account: bludshot
  • Main tag: [T]

Posted 08 August 2012 - 05:11 AM

View Postradiant, on 07 August 2012 - 01:26 PM, said:

But my first FPS has been Wolfstein 3D (1992) and started mapping for Duke Nukem 3D (1996), so i have a common sense of what is fun, what is not, even if i am not a pro mapper (read: do that for living).

The thing is that Urban Terror has a very specific game play style. New players don't generally even understand what that style is. They see the game and see the guns etc and figure it's roughly the same as Call of Duty, Battlefield, or whatever. But it really isn't. "What is fun" is very game specific. You could have a really fun map in Crysis but the map sucks if you used it in Urban Terror. You could have a fun Urban Terror map but it's boring if you played it in BF3.

But:

I have serious problems understanding why Casa is said to be a "great map" (i find it bidimensional and not tactic at all), while today gameplay is focusing on classes (even too much) and variety of opportunities in a single map.